Leadership and Legacy

Collaboration enables our industry to thrive. Leaders, like you, make it happen.

Michael Burcham

Meet Michael Burcham, Chair of the Council Fellows

Michael supports and leads dialogue in the classroom. With deep experience in health care innovation, entrepreneurship and executive coaching, he brings tremendous value to the Council Fellows program.

“Council Fellows enables the beginning of honest discussions delving into topics that must be addressed within our industry. Hands-on immersion activities and social events help program participants forge lifelong bonds that offer guidance when it counts. The Council Fellows experience is an invaluable one to leaders across health care.”

Former U.S. Majority Leader Bill Frist, M.C.
Chair Emeritus Senator Bill Frist, M.D.

Meet Senator Bill Frist, M.D., Founder of the Council Fellows

The Nashville Health Care Council launched Council Fellows in 2013, to engage and connect the leaders who will shape the future of our industry. The program was founded by former U.S. Senate Majority Leader Bill Frist, M.D.

Nashville provides Council Fellows with exposure to the leaders who have created the world’s most prominent health care organizations and to those who are introducing revolutionary new models to market.

With an unmatched legacy as an incubator of health care providers, health services start-ups and professional service firms, Nashville serves as home to nearly 20 publicly traded health care companies and a health care industry which generates nearly $100 billion in annual revenues.

Council Fellows has established an Advisory Board to curate cutting-edge curriculum, extend the reach of recruitment and bolster facilitation of this unique program. These luminaries serve as representatives and spokespeople at the national level. To date, advisory board members include:

  • Nancy-Ann DeParle
  • David Dill
  • Senator William Frist, M.D.
  • James Hildreth, Ph. D, M.D.

  • Tony Iton, M.D., JD, MPH
  • Todd Park
  • Reed Tuckson, M.D., FACP

View photos from the National Advisory Council

Past Faculty

Top health care leaders from around the country engage with the Council Fellows throughout the program. 2022 faculty members include:

  • Richard Ashworth, President, CEO and Board Member, Tivity Health, Inc. 
  • Bo Bartholomew, CEO, EvidenceCare | Managing Partner, Rockmont Investments 
  • Kevin Billups, MD, Professor of Urology & Internal Medicine, Director of Men’s Health, Chief Medical Officer MMG Vaccine and Immunization Program, Meharry Medical College 
  • Marty Bonick, President and Chief Executive Officer, Ardent Health Services 
  • Quincy J. Byrdsong, EdD, CIP, CCRRP, Vice Provost for Health Affairs, Lipscomb University 
  • Beth Chase, Founder and CEO, c3/consulting 
  • Representative Jim Cooper, U.S. Congress, Tennessee District 5 
  • Neil de Crescenzo, President and Chief Executive Officer, Change Healthcare 
  • Meg G. Crofton, Former President, Walt Disney, Parks & Resorts Operations, US & France 
  • Nancy-Ann DeParle, Managing Partner and Co-Founder, Consonance Capital Partners 
  • David Dill, President and Chief Executive Officer, LifePoint Health  
  • Rohan D’Souza, Chief Product Officer, Olive 
  • Michael Edgeworth, MD, Chief Population Health Officer, Octave Bioscience 
  • Carina Edwards, Chief Executive Officer, Quil Health 
  • Elizabeth Fowler, PhD, JD, Deputy Administrator and Director, Center for Medicare and Medicaid Innovation (CMS Innovation Center) 
  • Senator William H. Frist, MD, Chair Emeritus, Council Fellows 
  • Tammy Hawes, CEO and Founder, Virsys12 

  • Caleb Gallifant, Vice President of Product and Strategic Partnerships, Humana 
  • Darin J. Gordon, President and CEO of Gordon & Associates, LLC, Founding Partner of Speire Healthcare Strategies, LLC 
  • Lance Gruner, Executive Vice President, Global Customer Care, Mastercard 
  • Ray Guzman, Founding CEO, SwitchPoint Ventures, Council Fellows Alumnus 
  • Eric D. Hargan, JD, Former Deputy Secretary of the Department of Health and Human Services (HHS), Founder and CEO of The Hargan Group 
  • James E. K. Hildreth, PhD, MD, President and Chief Executive Officer, Meharry Medical College 
  • Anthony B. Iton, MD, JD, MPH, Senior Vice President of Healthy Communities 
  • Paul H. Keckley, Ph.D., Managing Editor, The Keckley Report 
  • Chandra McMahon, Sr. Vice President and Chief Information Security Officer, CVS Health 
  • Marcus Osborne, Former Senior Vice President of Health Transformation, Walmart 
  • Todd Park, Co-Founder and Executive Chairman, Devoted Health 
  • Saurabh Sinha, Founder and CEO, Emids 
  • Stephen Smith, Deputy Commissioner and Director, TennCare 
  • Micky Tripathi, PhD, MPP, National Coordinator for Health Information Technology, HHS 
  • Reed V. Tuckson, MD, FACP, Managing Director, Tuckson Health Connections, LLC, Executive in Residency, Council Fellows 
  • Paul Vernich, Co-Founder and CEO, Winnow 
  • Consuelo H. Wilkins, MD, MSCI, Senior Vice President and Senior Associate Dean for Health Equity and Inclusive Excellence 

Insert the code before the tag on all pages on your website (secure & non-secure). Learn more Once placed correctly, the status of the AdRoll Pixel button on your All Campaigns page will become "AdRoll Pixel Active" (it may take up to 24 hours to detect)