Collaboration enables our industry to thrive. Leaders, like you, make it happen.

George Barrett, Former CEO, Cardinal Health
George Barrett, Former CEO, Cardinal Health
U.S. Senate Majority Leader Bill Frist, M.D., and Larry Van Horn, Ph.D.
U.S. Senate Majority Leader Bill Frist, M.D. and Larry Van Horn, Ph.D.

The Nashville Health Care Council launched Council Fellows in 2012, to engage and connect the leaders who will shape the future of our industry. Since that time, our program has been co-chaired by former U.S. Senate Majority Leader Bill Frist, M.D., and Larry Van Horn, Ph.D., professor of health care management and economics at the Owen Graduate School of Management at Vanderbilt University.

Nashville provides Council Fellows with exposure to the leaders who created the biggest health care organizations in the world and to those who are introducing revolutionary new models to market.

With an unmatched legacy as an incubator of health care providers, health services start-ups and professional service firms, Nashville serves as home to 17 publicly traded health care companies and a health care industry which generates nearly $100 billion in annual revenues.

Our alumni network of 250+ former Council Fellows is also a testament to the continued strength of the nation’s “health care capital.”

Michael Burcham, Chair of the Council Fellows, supports and leads dialogue in the classroom. With deep experience in health care innovation, entrepreneurship and executive coaching, Michael brings tremendous value to the Council Fellows program.

As of this year, the Council has established an Advisory Board to curate cutting-edge curriculum, extend the reach of recruitment and bolster facilitation of this unique program. These luminaries serve as representatives and spokespeople at the national level. To date, the 2021 – 2022 advisory board members include:

  • Nancy-Ann DeParle
  • David Dill
  • Senator William Frist, M.D.
  • James Hildreth, Ph. D, M.D.

  • Tony Iton, M.D., JD, MPH
  • Todd Park
  • Reed Tuckson, M.D., FACP

Past Faculty

Top health care leaders from around the country engage with the Council Fellows throughout the program. Past faculty members include:

  • Troyen Brennan, M.D., Chief Medical Officer, CVS Health
  • George Barrett, Former CEO, Cardinal Health
  • Christopher Chen, M.D., CEO, ChenMed
  • Aneesh Chopra, President, CareJourney
  • Toby Cosgrove, Former CEO, Cleveland Clinic
  • Rushika Fernandopulle M.D., M.P.P., Co-founder and CEO, Iora Health

  • Regina E. Herzlinger, Nancy R. McPherson Professor of Business Administration, Harvard Business School
  • Marty Makary, Surgeon and Bestselling Author
  • Michael Porter, Professor of Strategy, Harvard University
  • Susan Siegel, CEO, GE Ventures

Insert the code before the tag on all pages on your website (secure & non-secure). Learn more Once placed correctly, the status of the AdRoll Pixel button on your All Campaigns page will become "AdRoll Pixel Active" (it may take up to 24 hours to detect)